ORDER Dated 30.04.2007

- 1. In exercise of power u/s 22 of the Electricity Act, 2003, the Orissa Electricity Regulatory Commission has formulated a Scheme for operation and management of the Central Electricity Supply Utility of Orissa (in short CESU). The said Scheme has been in force since 8th September, 2006 amended on 13.10.2006. Under the said Scheme the Utility is managed by a Management Board constituted by the Commission which consists of one Chairman and eight Members out of which two are full time members and designated as Chief Executive Officer (Operation) and Chief Executive Officer (Finance & Commerce).
- 2. The Commission took a stock of the operation of the Utility since operation of the Scheme and takes into record the very valuable efforts made by the Chairman and Members of the Management Board for successful implementation of the Scheme. It also took into consideration the views expressed by some members of the Management Board and State Advisory Committee (held on 25.04.07) that the present arrangement of Operation of the Utility by the two CEOs is perceived to be duality of authority which should better to be replaced by a single Chief Executive Officer. The Commission concurs with the aforesaid views and decides to make necessary changes in the Scheme to have one Chief Executive Officer.
- To encourage the in-service officers and to utilize their expertise in the process of decision making it is decided to nominate one such person to be a member of the management board and designate him as the Chief Operating Officer. (COO)
- 4. To make these changes, the Commission decides that the responsibility of Chief Executive now being shared by the CEO (O) &CEO (F&C) shall

be entrusted to the Chief Executive Officer. After functioning of the Chief Executive Officer the office of the CEO (operation) shall be designated as Chief Operating Officer. Similarly, the CEO (F&C) shall be redesignated as Chief Finance Officer. (CFO) The COO shall be the technical head of the Utility in charge of operation & maintenance, project execution and quality of supply. The CFO shall be in charge of finance and accounts and internal audit.

- 5. Thus the post of CEO (Operation) and CEO (Finance & Commerce) shall be redesignated after joining of COO and CFO. The new CEO, CFO & COO shall be the fulltime members of the Management Board.
- Negotiation with NTPC is still continuing for management contract of the Utility along with an alternate proposal for further professionalisation of the Management Board.
- 7. Pending finalization of these alternatives the Commission decides that with the redesignation of the post of CEO (O) as COO and joining of an in-service officer, Shri G.P. Sircar shall cease to be the CEO (O) but shall continue as a non-functional member of the Management Board in the category of eminent persons of state power sector as envisaged in clause 4 (ii) (c) of the existing Scheme. Accordingly, the said clause shall be amended to include four members. The total number of members of the Management Board is raised to nine in stead of eight apart from the Chairman. The quorum for the meeting of the Management Board shall be four instead of three.
- With the abolition of office of the CEO (F&C), Shri Debraj Biswal ceases to be the CEO (F&C) but shall continue to be a full time member of the Management Board and designated as CFO.

- The CFO shall remain in charge of the Chief Executive Officer until further orders. During the absence of CFO for any reason the COO shall remain in charge of CEO.
- 10. All other provisions of the existing Scheme shall remain intact.
- 11. The Commission hereby approves the amended version of the Scheme.
- 12. The said amendment shall come into force from the date of issue of this order. The copy of the amended Scheme may be served to the Chairman and Members of the Management Board, Dept. of Energy, Govt. of Orissa. So also the amended Scheme may be pasted in the Commission's website for information of the general public.

Sd/-	Sd/-	Sd/-
MEMBER (B)	MEMBER (SK)	CHAIRPERSON